Bobcat Athletics Puts 134 Student-Athletes on PBC Presidential Honor Roll

Senior first baseman Clayten Ayres
Senior first baseman Clayten Ayres

AUGUSTA, Ga. – The Peach Belt Conference (PBC) announced its Presidential Honor Roll recipients, with 134 Georgia College student-athletes making the list, coming just two shy of the school-best 136 set last year. The program honors all student-athletes with a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the 2016-17 academic year.

For the 10th season, the PBC divided the group into four levels by GPA, as all students between 3.00 and 3.24 are Presidential Scholars, 3.25 to 3.49 are Bronze Scholars, 3.50 to 3.74 are Silver Scholars and 3.75 to 4.00 are Gold Scholars.

This year also marks just the fifth time the total number of Bobcat honorees has eclipsed the century mark. The 1,720 honorees throughout the entire Peach Belt are a conference record, giving the PBC eight-straight years over 1,000 members on the list.

Bobcat Baseball had the most with 26 student-athletes on the list. Soccer was second with 24. Third in overall student-athletes listed was softball with 16 rostered players making the grade. Volleyball joined Women's Tennis as the two teams to post the impressive feat of putting their entire rosters on the list. Men's Cross Country owns the top ratio for a men's squad, as they put 11 of their 13 student-athletes on, good for 85 percent. Georgia College had 36 Gold Scholars, 41 Silver Scholars, 27 Bronze Scholars and 30 Presidential Scholars.

A list of the scholars follows, separated by sport:

Baseball [26]: Gold Scholars – Clayten Ayres, Josh Fellows, Logan Mattix, Bradley Spinner, Kyle Rabinowitz; Silver Scholars – Garrett Green, Austin Hendricks, Kane Keith, Charles Parker, Nate Schmal, Matt Studdard, Evan Troutt, Harrison Veldsma; Bronze Scholars – Will Bagwell, Charlie Hecht, Logan Hicks, Phillip Stiles; Presidential Scholars – Chandler Amason, Brendan Holler, Kyle King, Brooks Luther, Aaron Moore, Zach Schulman, Tristen Thompson, Brady Walsh, Wesley Wommack.

Women's Basketball [11]: Gold Scholars – Veronica Ryan; Silver Scholars – Ana Anderson, Ellie Fruit, Lindsey Reed, Landry Rushing, Kenyatta Storms; Bronze Scholars – Sydney Cleveland, Katherine Markle; Presidential Scholars – Dail Adaway, Dionna Hartfield, Christina Thomas.

Men's Basketball [5]: Gold Scholars – Brian Vonck; Silver Scholars – Matt McCorkle, Isaac Thomas; Bronze Scholars – Charles Newell; Presidential Scholars – Ryan Dobbs.

Women's Cross Country [9]: Gold Scholars – Kaitlyn Griffith, Maddy Howe, Anna Tipton, Sarah Willis, Rebecca Winslow, Katherine Yost; Silver Scholars – Grace Lynch, Brittney Schwind; Bronze Scholars – Madison Bowers.

Men's Cross Country [11]: Gold Scholars – Shawn Olmstead, Conner Reynolds, Collin Silliman, Brian Skoglind; Silver Scholars – Austin Campbell, Andrew Cowick, Daniel Sexton, Austin Vonkutzleben; Bronze Scholars – Jim Galvin; Presidential Scholars – Thomas Templeman, Joshua Warren.

Golf [6]: Silver Scholars – Matias Chiappero, Matty Hines, Ben Huckaby, Ryan Joiner, Harry Lambert; Presidential Scholars – Jake Minchew.

Soccer [24]: Gold Scholars – Mary Leigh Amerein, Ragnheidur Bjarnadottir, Liz Franco, Ashlee Graham, Abby Nearing, Allyease Schwartz, Millie York; Silver Scholars – Hannah Davidson, Maddie Stephen, Emily Wilhelm; Bronze Scholars – Savannah DeValle, Amanda Ferry, Alex Giles, Cayce Hamilton, Sofia Lekas, Anya Mancinelli, Sarah Miller, Unnbjorg Omarsdottir; Presidential Scholars – Rahliat Animashaun, Sol Baldassini, Amanda Bartholomew, Jessica Catapano, Renee Mike, Bailee Munnerlyn.

Softball [16]: Gold Scholars – Hannah Coursey, Holland Coursey, Amber Coy, Nicole Humphries, Cassidy Rice, Brooke Taylor; Silver Scholars – Morgan Martin, Shawnda Martin, Emily Robertson, Caroline Snider; Bronze Scholars – Danielle Bernstein, Faith Flanders, Jessica Hayles, Rachel Smith; Presidential Scholars – Carey Alderman, Shae Balzer.

Women's Tennis [6]: Gold Scholars – Jena Kelly, Emma Niemi, Macy Polk; Silver Scholars – Kristen Jones, Camilla Negrini; Bronze Scholars – Hannah Serdinia.

Men's Tennis [6]: Gold Scholars – Christian Graff; Silver Scholars – Jannik Kumbier; Bronze Scholars – Mattia Campus, Kyle Kinsler, Anton Waern; Presidential Scholars – Pedro Ecenarro.

Volleyball [14]: Gold Scholars – Katie Ray, Ashley Savransky; Silver Scholars – Danyelle Drummond, Lindsay Holmes, Miller Howard, Madison Speyerer, Taylor Svehla; Bronze Scholars – Kayla Brockway, Caroline Long; Presidential Scholars – Nicole Cohen, Chandler Ewaldsen, Ebony Powers, Maggie Roper, Blake Willoughby.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at @GCBobcats on social media for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit to purchase photo prints from home athletic contests.